Introvert Relationships: Love Me or Leave Me But Please Don’t Need Me (Too Much)

8 Jun

Tech Savvy Lender:

What a superb piece! I bet this REALLY resonates with my innie friends!

Originally posted on space2live:

One of the gifts of introversion is that we have to be discriminating about our relationships.  We know we only have so much energy for reaching out; if we’re going to invest, we want it to be good.

~ Laurie Helgoe, Introvert Power

Often this gift of discriminating taste feels more like a burden than a gift.  I am acutely aware of my limited energy.  Quite honestly most of my energy goes to raising my children.  What energy I have left I use to nurture friendships, connect with extended family and date.

The truth is we (introverts) have to be selective about all of our relationships.  Unlike extroverts we recharge from within. Socializing with lots of people (although enjoyable) can drain us.  Extroverts get energy from social interactions and external stimulation.

Over the last few years I have learned to pause and gauge how I feel with different people.  Do…

View original 840 more words

2 Responses to “Introvert Relationships: Love Me or Leave Me But Please Don’t Need Me (Too Much)”

  1. brennagee June 8, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing my piece. It seems to hit home with a lot of readers. Extroverts like it too because it helps them understand us mysterious introverts.;)

    • Tech Savvy Lender June 9, 2013 at 9:52 am #

      Gladly! I’m so excited to continue reading your posts. Helping me validate and clarify some things for myself. Keep’em coming, Brenna!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

